



## Presentation of LIGO Thesis Prize

Peter Saulson





### LIGO Thesis Prize

A biannual prize for the outstanding Ph.D. thesis written based on research carried out within LIGO (Lab or LSC.)

Either within an LSC member institution or in collaboration with one.

### Theses judged on

- » Originality and creativity of research
- » Importance to field of gravitational wave detection, broadly defined
- » Clarity of presentation.

#### Prize includes

- » Certificate
- » Travel to LSC meeting to receive award
- » Cash award of \$1500





### First LIGO Thesis Prize

First round covered these from 1 June 03 to 31 May 05.

Seven theses were nominated.

Very diverse: new hardware, commissioning, and data analysis; from domestic LSC groups, GEO, and TAMA.

#### Selection committee met this summer:

- » Vern Sandberg, chair
- » Bill Hamilton
- » Joe Romano

We were all extremely impressed with the very high quality of the nominated theses.





# ... and the winner is ...

Dr. Rana Adhikari
Ph.D. MIT 2004
now at LIGO-Caltech